Mayor Wu and B.A.A Announce Recipients of the Fastest Bostonian Awards at the 128th Boston Marathon

~ Boston Mayor Michelle Wu and the Boston Athletic Association (B.A.A.) have announced the recipients of the second annual Fastest Bostonians awards. These awards are given to the top male, female, and non-binary runners from Boston who had the fastest finish times at the 128th Boston Marathon.

The winners of this year's awards are Dr. Miles Batty from West Roxbury, Arianna Maida from Jamaica Plain, and Nonie Anderson from Brighton. Dr. Batty, an orthopedic surgery resident, finished the race in an impressive time of 2 hours and 25 minutes. Arianna Maida, a Physician Assistant at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, crossed the finish line in 2 hours and 48 minutes and 50 seconds. Nonie Anderson, a student at Boston College Law School, completed the marathon in 3 hours and 44 minutes and 18 seconds.

Mayor Wu expressed her pride in honoring these talented runners who represent the best of Boston. She also thanked the B.A.A. for their partnership in continuing this tradition of recognizing local talent. The mayor will celebrate these three runners at a reception in the coming days.

More on Boston Chron
Jack Fleming, President and CEO of the B.A.A., also praised Boston's local runners for their outstanding performance at this year's marathon. He stated that they have once again proven why Boston is known as the City of Champions.

The Boston Marathon is not only a prestigious event for elite runners from around the world but also a platform to celebrate hometown talent. This is why for two consecutive years now, Boston residents with the fastest finish times have been awarded with commemorative glass bowls engraved with "Fastest Bostonian."

Last year's inaugural Fastest Bostonian Award went to three deserving runners from Boston - Vinny Castronuovo from South End for fastest man with a time of 2:25:56, Shannon Lamarre from Charlestown for fastest woman with a time of 2:54:34, and Danielle Bishop from Allston, the first non-binary Bostonian to participate in the race.

The reception to honor this year's Fastest Bostonians will be announced soon. As the world's oldest annual marathon, the Boston Marathon continues to bring together elite runners and inspire local talent to push themselves to their limits. Congratulations to all participants and especially to Dr. Miles Batty, Arianna Maida, and Nonie Anderson for their remarkable achievements.

Filed Under: Government, City

Show All News | Report Violation


Latest on Boston Chron